Cycles: volume sampling method can now be set per material/world.
authorBrecht Van Lommel <brechtvanlommel@gmail.com>
Sat, 7 Jun 2014 16:47:14 +0000 (18:47 +0200)
committerBrecht Van Lommel <brechtvanlommel@gmail.com>
Sat, 14 Jun 2014 11:49:56 +0000 (13:49 +0200)
commit5fa68133c986be521e06b1f2558a33e56d27b98b
tree9310d597d7b3f07dd0c4842e971564ef738d75c0
parenta29807cd63b0cba62e664c54ce34e5717ca51a3e
Cycles: volume sampling method can now be set per material/world.

This gives you "Multiple Importance", "Distance" and "Equiangular" choices.

What multiple importance sampling does is make things more robust to certain
types of noise at the cost of a bit more noise in cases where the individual
strategies are always better.

So if you've got a pretty dense volume that's lit from far away then distance
sampling is usually more efficient. If you've got a light inside or near the
volume then equiangular sampling is better. If you have a combination of both,
then the multiple importance sampling will be better.
intern/cycles/blender/addon/properties.py
intern/cycles/blender/addon/ui.py
intern/cycles/blender/blender_shader.cpp
intern/cycles/blender/blender_sync.cpp
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_path.h
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_types.h
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_volume.h
intern/cycles/render/integrator.cpp
intern/cycles/render/shader.cpp
intern/cycles/render/shader.h