Fix deadlock happening when using Save Buffers for render
authorSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Wed, 1 Jan 2014 10:59:38 +0000 (16:59 +0600)
committerSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Wed, 1 Jan 2014 16:32:47 +0000 (22:32 +0600)
commit71f689843d13b86fad26ab07867ea70fed80c1e7
treeeb69767db07596b9148666fb242a3fb9b756482b
parent549248f64beaa9f8ffe9ff2e55939ac4f0c23259
Fix deadlock happening when using Save Buffers for render

Summary:
Issue was caused by the same tile being written twice to
the EXR file. This was happening because of partial update
of work-in-progress tiles was merging result to the final
render result in order to make color management pipeline
happy.

We need to avoid such a merges and keep memory usage as
low as possible when Save Buffers is enabled.

Now render pipeline will allocate special display buffer
in render layer which will contain combined pass in the
display space. This keeps memory usage as low as we can
do at this moment.

There's one weak thing which is changing color management
settings during rendering would lead to lossy conversion.
This is because render result's display buffer uses color
space from the time when rendering was invoked.

This is actually what was happening in previous release
already actually so not a big issue.

Reviewers: brecht

Reviewed By: brecht

Differential Revision: https://developer.blender.org/D162
source/blender/blenkernel/intern/image.c
source/blender/compositor/operations/COM_ViewerOperation.cpp
source/blender/editors/render/render_internal.c
source/blender/imbuf/IMB_colormanagement.h
source/blender/imbuf/intern/colormanagement.c
source/blender/render/extern/include/RE_pipeline.h
source/blender/render/intern/source/external_engine.c
source/blender/render/intern/source/render_result.c