Action Editor: Stash Action Operator
authorJoshua Leung <aligorith@gmail.com>
Fri, 27 Feb 2015 14:32:13 +0000 (03:32 +1300)
committerJoshua Leung <aligorith@gmail.com>
Sat, 28 Feb 2015 13:34:44 +0000 (02:34 +1300)
commitac30378e3e3d790bad6d8027c2443b57cf47068e
tree3f84496732dc354dfd1d75e10de9bd7a21b42239
parent7af469029510aa1eac5f6afaa381329f6093d73a
Action Editor: Stash Action Operator

This operator (the snowflake icon, beside the pushdown button on the Action Editor
header) adds the currently active action to the NLA stack in a muted track, then
creates + loads a new action ready to be populated with new keyframes.
Since the NLA is being used to hang on to all the actions here, no actions are
getting lost.

Usage Notes (there will be some additional tweaks to make this nicer):
* To preview different actions that have been "stashed", simply click the "Solo"
  toggle for the track containing the action in question. Playing back the NLA will
  now show the stashed track
* To edit a previously stashed action - simply enter tweakmode on it in the NLA
  while the "Solo" toggle is enabled.

Todo:
* Add some more operators here to polish up the Action <-> NLA bridge to make the
  layered and stash workflows smoother. Examples include some tools to easily
  switch between the different actions layers in the stack, as well as making it
  easier to get out of tweakmode (and sync up the action lengths)

* Review and cleanup the behaviour of the "new" operator here to avoid the old
  problems that users were running into

* After the next release - Implement the full Action Libraries functionality, with
  ways to bridge the stashed strips over to a full-blown library.
release/scripts/startup/bl_ui/space_dopesheet.py
source/blender/editors/space_action/CMakeLists.txt
source/blender/editors/space_action/SConscript
source/blender/editors/space_action/action_edit.c
source/blender/editors/space_action/action_intern.h
source/blender/editors/space_action/action_ops.c