Build environment: Enable SSL for Python on Linux
authorSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Mon, 27 Aug 2018 16:09:30 +0000 (18:09 +0200)
committerSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Mon, 27 Aug 2018 16:14:42 +0000 (18:14 +0200)
commit072540688a90017f57730dbabf4198cb7ea310f2
treec23284a04452c06ee01227c9c9a4c02d0b9c036d
parentf693e2c64412e5214c85fcd6021b4329f0c2f034
Build environment: Enable SSL for Python on Linux

This involved getting SSL compiled from sources first, ensuring
it is a static library placement independent code. Configuration
is based on what Debian is using. CFlags required to have own
configuration file, which i didn't find a better place that next
to the corresponding CMake file.

It is OpenSSL btw.

It is set to Python via --with-openssl= configuration argument.
This works fine in a clean chroot, but having libssl-dev installed
might make Python to prefer system wide library, This was worked
around by using libssl_pic.a name for the library and modifying
setup.py. Would be cool to ensure system wide libraries are not
a problem, but official release builder is safe against this,
since it will catch possible non-static dependencies.

There is also a new map file which shadows bunch of Python
symbols. Without this Python's shared libraries might bring
conflicting symbols to Blender namespace at runtime.

Hopefully this doesn't break other platforms.
build_files/build_environment/CMakeLists.txt
build_files/build_environment/cmake/python.cmake
build_files/build_environment/cmake/python.map [new file with mode: 0644]
build_files/build_environment/cmake/ssl.cmake [new file with mode: 0644]
build_files/build_environment/cmake/ssl.conf [new file with mode: 0644]
build_files/build_environment/cmake/versions.cmake