Remove "_base*" from context API
authorDalai Felinto <dfelinto@gmail.com>
Tue, 21 May 2019 13:49:05 +0000 (10:49 -0300)
committerDalai Felinto <dfelinto@gmail.com>
Tue, 21 May 2019 22:24:04 +0000 (19:24 -0300)
commit0910932e71d2b869e0f9d4289d89f20c64beabaa
tree534961a356c0cf86efa282f3fb9ba9d9ce5327fe
parent58a75d01a6247063ae3a570150a4402e3cdf1e5a
Remove "_base*" from context API

We are not exposing RNA_ObjectBase in the 2.80 API.

Thus we can't have operators relying on it (e.g, CTX_data_visible_bases,
CTX_data_active_base, ...). Otherwise users won't be able to override
context for these operators.

This commit keep the CTX_data_.*bases() functions around so we don't
need to change the operators and potentially break things that late into
2.80. However as far as the Python scripters are concerned there is no
base to be overriden, ever.

That also simplify the guessing game addon developers have to play when
trying to override an operatori context. They still need to find whether an
operator requires editables, visibles, selected, ... objects. But at
least they don't need to find out whether the operators need base or
object.
source/blender/blenkernel/intern/context.c
source/blender/editors/screen/screen_context.c