Cycles Volume Render: add support for overlapping volume objects.
authorBrecht Van Lommel <brechtvanlommel@gmail.com>
Sat, 28 Dec 2013 19:02:40 +0000 (20:02 +0100)
committerBrecht Van Lommel <brechtvanlommel@gmail.com>
Sat, 28 Dec 2013 19:12:11 +0000 (20:12 +0100)
commit2b39214c4d8811b06545b83c4e42a7578266e2b1
tree5cbddb26f8031ff94035f5aff2dc516a2d0359d9
parente369a5c48529864118d49222dde3d530d58ebeae
Cycles Volume Render: add support for overlapping volume objects.

This works pretty much as you would expect, overlapping volume objects gives
a more dense volume. What did change is that world volume shaders are now
active everywhere, they are no longer excluded inside objects.

This may not be desirable and we need to think of better control over this.
In some cases you clearly want it to happen, for example if you are rendering
a fire in a foggy environment. In other cases like the inside of a house you
may not want any fog, but it doesn't seem possible in general for the renderer
to automatically determine what is inside or outside of the house.

This is implemented using a simple fixed size array of shader/object ID pairs,
limited to max 15 overlapping objects. The closures from all shaders are put
into a single closure array, exactly the same as if an add shader was used to
combine them.
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_path.h
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_path_state.h
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_shader.h
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_shadow.h
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_types.h
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_volume.h
intern/cycles/kernel/osl/osl_shader.cpp
intern/cycles/kernel/osl/osl_shader.h
intern/cycles/kernel/svm/svm.h