UI: disable new text hinting from D3201 by default for now.
authorBrecht Van Lommel <brechtvanlommel@gmail.com>
Tue, 14 Aug 2018 15:53:27 +0000 (17:53 +0200)
committerBrecht Van Lommel <brechtvanlommel@gmail.com>
Tue, 21 Aug 2018 17:07:04 +0000 (19:07 +0200)
commit34029fc71a3cc7e69f977462d4b3f09eb10ccca2
treee92af5b985e31177bba8621e5696e8243b8a2b46
parentabc4beb245c123f570072e642287c44b7c8f2b86
UI: disable new text hinting from D3201 by default for now.

This changes the text hinting setting to be an enum with options
Auto / None / Slight / Full. The default is Auto which currently disables
hinting.

The hinting was tested with a new FreeType version, but this is not what
is used on the buildbots an official release environment, and the fonts
look quite bad because of that. Once FreeType has been upgraded we can
change the default.

Even then the results are not ideal, perhaps due to missing subpixel
positioning and linear color blending support in BLF.
release/scripts/startup/bl_ui/space_userpref.py
source/blender/blenfont/BLF_api.h
source/blender/blenfont/intern/blf_glyph.c
source/blender/editors/interface/interface_style.c
source/blender/makesdna/DNA_userdef_types.h
source/blender/makesrna/intern/rna_userdef.c