Keymap: Change default spacebar action to play
authorCampbell Barton <ideasman42@gmail.com>
Tue, 27 Nov 2018 19:57:25 +0000 (06:57 +1100)
committerCampbell Barton <ideasman42@gmail.com>
Tue, 27 Nov 2018 21:00:04 +0000 (08:00 +1100)
commit3f33b4573dab17e39bfde0e2e85bf16d728df0aa
tree9e3bdb0142f6f147b6d863f5e5c6fa8ac42ff5af
parent9d4129eee649a62c5adb130dc1a6ebd6ca405a89
Keymap: Change default spacebar action to play

This has been a contentious topic: Artists at the Blender-Studio prefer
this behavior, while the user community overwhelmingly prefers 2.7x
operator search. Previously this defaulted to accessing tools
(eg: Space-T activates transform.. Space-R rotate etc) which I still
believe is a better long term default - otherwise we don't have
efficient tool switching for a system we intend to make more use of,
nevertheless as far as I can tell users haven't been keen on adopting
this so far. Show the preference on the setup screen since many users
don't animate and will may want to quickly search or switch tools.
release/scripts/presets/keyconfig/blender.py
release/scripts/startup/bl_operators/wm.py