Cycles: Calculate face normal on the fly.
authorThomas Dinges <blender@dingto.org>
Fri, 13 Jun 2014 19:27:21 +0000 (21:27 +0200)
committerThomas Dinges <blender@dingto.org>
Fri, 13 Jun 2014 19:59:13 +0000 (21:59 +0200)
commit49df707496e505c8a8b21c1ea36b479e950cc66c
tree29ad1b81a9cc9cbb020d114772319171500fab61
parentcd5e1ff74e4f6443f3e4b836dd23fe46b56cb7ed
Cycles: Calculate face normal on the fly.

Instead of pre-calculation and storage, we now calculate the face normal during render.
This gives a small slowdown (~1%) but decreases memory usage, which is especially important for GPUs,
where you have limited VRAM.

Part of my GSoC 2014.
intern/cycles/kernel/geom/geom_bvh_shadow.h
intern/cycles/kernel/geom/geom_motion_triangle.h
intern/cycles/kernel/geom/geom_triangle.h
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_shader.h
intern/cycles/kernel/kernel_textures.h
intern/cycles/render/mesh.cpp
intern/cycles/render/mesh.h
intern/cycles/render/scene.h