AnimEditors: Fuzzy/Multi-Word Name Filtering
authorJoshua Leung <aligorith@gmail.com>
Wed, 23 Mar 2016 13:44:39 +0000 (02:44 +1300)
committerJoshua Leung <aligorith@gmail.com>
Wed, 23 Mar 2016 13:45:14 +0000 (02:45 +1300)
commit6a4967ca6e6c6fd2a82c8af2549337e49d32756d
tree3f5841a69e24ca691f961aefca8d8bd1d474b548
parent21f31e60546f1f882494bacb84adee92a53d734c
AnimEditors: Fuzzy/Multi-Word Name Filtering

Thanks to D1080 by @rockets, I've now been able to easily implement the
ability to type multiple word snippets/partial words into the text filter
field (in the Animation Editors), and have it filter the channels which
contain just some of those parts (instead of having to match everything).

For example, the following search strings will now work:
* "loc rot" or "lo ro" will now filter all location and rotation FCurves
* "col loc" will filter all location and color FCurves
* "scale" will also work as before to filter all scale FCurves

But, the following will not work:
* "lc rt" will NOT filter all location and rotation, as the fuzzy search only
  breaks down the search string based on whitespace placement

By default, this is not enabled when using name filtering (i.e. magnifying glass is checked,
and some filtering text is specified). Instead, you need to enable the "AZ" toggle beside
the name field. This fuzzy matching is not enabled by default as it could end up being
quite a bit slower on really heavy scenes. (There are probably some optimisation
opportunities, but that's only a future option if someone really needs it)
release/scripts/startup/bl_ui/space_dopesheet.py
source/blender/editors/animation/anim_filter.c
source/blender/makesdna/DNA_action_types.h
source/blender/makesrna/intern/rna_action.c