Fix T53686: VSE Render crash when zooming timeline
authorSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Thu, 1 Feb 2018 15:24:25 +0000 (16:24 +0100)
committerSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Thu, 1 Feb 2018 15:34:30 +0000 (16:34 +0100)
commit7884ae6eb274bea0fe4739255a41a693df833b11
tree38cd12c4d1a25ab38ca255b7e0263b77fc5fb067
parent1a840c3e27a4a5b00412f786db14182e1d3a2255
Fix T53686: VSE Render crash when zooming timeline

This is rather a workaround to avoid main thread freeing all glyph caches
at the same time as sequencer uses fonts to draw text sequences.

Ideally we need to either make cache more local, or user-counted or to make
somewhat more global locks. All this ends up in a bigger refactor which is
better for 2.8. For the meantime let's make Blender more stable with a tiny
workaround.

Downside is that keeping zooming things up and down in interface during render
will increase memory usage by unused glyph caches. It's not too bad though,
all unused caches will be freed first time at area zoom after render.

Thanks Bastien for review!
source/blender/editors/interface/view2d.c