Cycles: Adaptive isolation
authorMai Lavelle <mai.lavelle@gmail.com>
Fri, 16 Sep 2016 22:07:24 +0000 (18:07 -0400)
committerSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Thu, 22 Sep 2016 10:33:32 +0000 (12:33 +0200)
commit7da7611c0b9ddea0be5fd9a512523ab46bf257b2
treec73dbb66e6189edb19ca3e3d457ee59536274958
parentd14603021ce825a579a297312c2cc7031a34ccd4
Cycles: Adaptive isolation

Idea here is to select the lowest isolation level that wont compromise quality.
By using the lowest level we save memory and processing time. This will also
help avoid precision issues that have been showing up from using the highest
level (T49179, T49257).

This is a pretty simple heuristic that gives ok results. There's more we could
do here, such as filtering for vertices/edges adjacent geometric features that
need isolation instead of checking them all, but the logic there could get a
bit involved.

There's potential for slight popping of edges during animation if the dice
rate is low, but I don't think this should be a problem since low dice rates
really shouldn't be used in animation anyways.

Reviewed By: brecht, sergey

Differential Revision: https://developer.blender.org/D2240
intern/cycles/render/mesh_subdivision.cpp