Fix T59874: Cycles CPU 25% load only during rendering
authorSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Thu, 27 Dec 2018 18:01:19 +0000 (19:01 +0100)
committerSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Thu, 27 Dec 2018 18:12:59 +0000 (19:12 +0100)
commit826d7adde79216d271b78059c05abd10b7559899
tree5d8b334bf5603208e12b579e5a6cd1314d29cfdd
parentde14ddf3a141cb0e2baff00b06dc7d86d3088916
Fix T59874: Cycles CPU 25% load only during rendering

The issue was introduced by a Threadripper2 commit back in
ce927e15e0e3. This boils down to threads inheriting affinity
from the parent thread. It is a question how this slipped
through the review (we definitely run benchmark round).

Quick fix could have been to always set CPU group affinity
in Cycles, and it would work for Windows. On other platforms
we did not have CPU groups API finished.

Ended up making Cycles aware of NUMA topology, so now we
bound threads to a specific NUMA node. This required adding
an external dependency to Cycles, but made some code there
shorter.
intern/cycles/util/CMakeLists.txt
intern/cycles/util/util_system.cpp
intern/cycles/util/util_system.h
intern/cycles/util/util_task.cpp
intern/cycles/util/util_thread.cpp
intern/cycles/util/util_thread.h
intern/cycles/util/util_windows.cpp [deleted file]
intern/cycles/util/util_windows.h
intern/numaapi/include/numaapi.h
intern/numaapi/source/numaapi_linux.c