Cycles: schedule more work for non-display and compute preemption CUDA cards.
authorBrecht Van Lommel <brechtvanlommel@gmail.com>
Sun, 8 Oct 2017 17:08:44 +0000 (19:08 +0200)
committerBrecht Van Lommel <brechtvanlommel@gmail.com>
Sun, 8 Oct 2017 19:12:16 +0000 (21:12 +0200)
commite360d003ea45ee233c6f10c03ff57c956929b383
tree177745a20e1fc69cfee4765cc29ac055bed383d2
parent5aa08eb3cc7c9c5a6282d938fd2ffa6266a40ff7
Cycles: schedule more work for non-display and compute preemption CUDA cards.

This change affects CUDA GPUs not connected to a display or connected to a
display but supporting compute preemption so that the display does not
freeze. I couldn't find an official list, but compute preemption seems to be
only supported with GTX 1070+ and Linux (not GTX 1060- or Windows).

This helps improve small tile rendering performance further if there are
sufficient samples x number of pixels in a single tile to keep the GPU busy.
intern/cycles/device/device_cuda.cpp