BLI_math_rotation: properly name the quaternion power function.
authorAlexander Gavrilov <angavrilov@gmail.com>
Sun, 23 Dec 2018 12:25:40 +0000 (15:25 +0300)
committerAlexander Gavrilov <angavrilov@gmail.com>
Sun, 23 Dec 2018 12:28:32 +0000 (15:28 +0300)
"angular mult factor" is a completely unintelligible description
for a function that raises a unit quaternion to the scalar power.

source/blender/blenlib/BLI_math_rotation.h
source/blender/blenlib/intern/math_rotation.c
source/blender/editors/sculpt_paint/sculpt.c

index 5b1568a..2bc82ba 100644 (file)
@@ -53,7 +53,8 @@ void copy_qt_qt(float q[4], const float a[4]);
 void mul_qt_qtqt(float q[4], const float a[4], const float b[4]);
 void mul_qt_v3(const float q[4], float r[3]);
 void mul_qt_fl(float q[4], const float f);
-void mul_fac_qt_fl(float q[4], const float f);
+
+void pow_qt_fl_normalized(float q[4], const float f);
 
 void sub_qt_qtqt(float q[4], const float a[4], const float b[4]);
 
index 3e74173..8e5b3f0 100644 (file)
@@ -193,9 +193,10 @@ void sub_qt_qtqt(float q[4], const float q1[4], const float q2[4])
        mul_qt_qtqt(q, q1, nq2);
 }
 
-/* angular mult factor */
-void mul_fac_qt_fl(float q[4], const float fac)
+/* raise a unit quaternion to the specified power */
+void pow_qt_fl_normalized(float q[4], const float fac)
 {
+       BLI_ASSERT_UNIT_QUAT(q);
        const float angle = fac * saacos(q[0]); /* quat[0] = cos(0.5 * angle), but now the 0.5 and 2.0 rule out */
        const float co = cosf(angle);
        const float si = sinf(angle);
index a4605ed..5694c76 100644 (file)
@@ -276,7 +276,7 @@ static void sculpt_rake_rotate(
        sub_v3_v3v3(vec_rot, v_co, sculpt_co);
 
        copy_qt_qt(q_interp, ss->cache->rake_rotation_symmetry);
-       mul_fac_qt_fl(q_interp, factor);
+       pow_qt_fl_normalized(q_interp, factor);
        mul_qt_v3(q_interp, vec_rot);
 
        add_v3_v3(vec_rot, sculpt_co);