Cycles: Only use new light sample threshold for new files
authorSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Tue, 8 Nov 2016 09:54:38 +0000 (10:54 +0100)
committerSergey Sharybin <sergey.vfx@gmail.com>
Tue, 8 Nov 2016 09:58:09 +0000 (10:58 +0100)
This is a late follow-up commit to the light sample threshold changes which
caused difference in rendering all existing .blend files which is not something
we are happy about: it is fine to use new optimized defaults for new files, but
existing ones should always be rendering in the same way as they used to be.

Sorry for the inconveniece, but such thing should have been done to begin with.
If this setting was modified it will not be reset to zero.

Now all render tests should be passing again.

P.S. Also really annoying to bump subversion for such reasons, but currently we
don't have better way to achieve what we want.

intern/cycles/blender/addon/version_update.py
source/blender/blenkernel/BKE_blender_version.h

index 830723d61498ce26ae6121b8adcf5a438e212c0f..951afd37a92152fd707eff7cdf0757974dd7818c 100644 (file)
@@ -278,3 +278,9 @@ def do_versions(self):
                     cscene.pixel_filter_type = cscene.filter_type
                 if cscene.filter_type == 'BLACKMAN_HARRIS':
                     cscene.filter_type = 'GAUSSIAN'
+
+    if bpy.data.version <= (2, 78, 2):
+        for scene in bpy.data.scenes:
+            cscene = scene.cycles
+            if not cscene.is_property_set("light_sampling_threshold"):
+                cscene.light_sampling_threshold = 0.0
index 55142510f9ea655c05876428ae6133d1c661ae8f..908e6f214f983ca0ca36a22f2fbb2157ae031c55 100644 (file)
@@ -28,7 +28,7 @@
  * and keep comment above the defines.
  * Use STRINGIFY() rather than defining with quotes */
 #define BLENDER_VERSION         278
-#define BLENDER_SUBVERSION      1
+#define BLENDER_SUBVERSION      2
 /* Several breakages with 270, e.g. constraint deg vs rad */
 #define BLENDER_MINVERSION      270
 #define BLENDER_MINSUBVERSION   6