readme: initial minimal readme
authorCampbell Barton <ideasman42@gmail.com>
Sat, 13 Apr 2019 08:37:52 +0000 (10:37 +0200)
committerCampbell Barton <ideasman42@gmail.com>
Sat, 13 Apr 2019 08:53:56 +0000 (10:53 +0200)
Useful to link official resources when the repository is accessed via
3rd party hosting.

readme.rst [new file with mode: 0644]

diff --git a/readme.rst b/readme.rst
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..9e1d1c9
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,42 @@
+
+.. Keep this document short & concise,
+   linking to external resources instead of including content in-line.
+   See 'release/text/readme.html' for the end user read-me.
+
+
+Blender
+=======
+
+Blender is the free and open source 3D creation suite.
+It supports the entirety of the 3D pipeline-modeling, rigging, animation, simulation, rendering, compositing,
+motion tracking and video editing.
+
+.. figure:: https://code.blender.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/springrg.jpg
+   :scale: 50 %
+   :align: center
+
+
+Project Pages
+-------------
+
+- `Main Website <http://www.blender.org>`__
+- `Reference Manual <https://docs.blender.org/manual/en/latest/index.html>`__
+- `Get Involved <https://www.blender.org/get-involved/developers>`__
+- `Development & Issue Tracker <https://developer.blender.org>`__
+- `Discussion Forum <https://devtalk.blender.org>`__
+
+
+Development Notes and Build Instructions
+----------------------------------------
+
+- `Developer Introduction <https://wiki.blender.org/wiki/Developer_Intro>`__
+- `Building Blender <https://wiki.blender.org/wiki/Building_Blender>`__
+
+
+License
+-------
+
+Blender as a whole is licensed under the GNU Public License, Version 3.
+Individual files may have a different, but compatible license.
+
+See `blender.org/about/license <https://www.blender.org/about/license>`__ for details.