Makefile: icons target now uses make variables
authorCampbell Barton <ideasman42@gmail.com>
Wed, 27 Feb 2019 23:34:50 +0000 (10:34 +1100)
committerCampbell Barton <ideasman42@gmail.com>
Wed, 27 Feb 2019 23:37:49 +0000 (10:37 +1100)
Add examples in help text.

GNUmakefile

index afd1a48..3596073 100644 (file)
@@ -101,13 +101,21 @@ Utilities
 
    * icons:
      Updates PNG icons from SVG files.
-     Set environment variables 'BLENDER_BIN' and 'INKSCAPE_BIN'
-     to define your own commands.
+
+     Optionally pass in variables: 'BLENDER_BIN', 'INKSCAPE_BIN'
+     otherwise default paths are used.
+
+     Example
+        make icons INKSCAPE_BIN=/path/to/inkscape
 
    * icons_geom:
      Updates Geometry icons from BLEND file.
-     Set environment variable 'BLENDER_BIN'
-     to define your own command.
+
+     Optionally pass in variable: 'BLENDER_BIN'
+     otherwise default paths are used.
+
+     Example
+        make icons_geom BLENDER_BIN=/path/to/blender
 
    * tgz:
      Create a compressed archive of the source code.
@@ -478,9 +486,12 @@ check_descriptions: .FORCE
 tgz: .FORCE
        ./build_files/utils/build_tgz.sh
 
+INKSCAPE_BIN?="inkscape"
 icons: .FORCE
-       "$(BLENDER_DIR)/release/datafiles/blender_icons_update.py"
-       "$(BLENDER_DIR)/release/datafiles/prvicons_update.py"
+       BLENDER_BIN=$(BLENDER_BIN) INKSCAPE_BIN=$(INKSCAPE_BIN) \
+               "$(BLENDER_DIR)/release/datafiles/blender_icons_update.py"
+       BLENDER_BIN=$(BLENDER_BIN) INKSCAPE_BIN=$(INKSCAPE_BIN) \
+               "$(BLENDER_DIR)/release/datafiles/prvicons_update.py"
 
 icons_geom: .FORCE
        BLENDER_BIN=$(BLENDER_BIN) \