BLI_math: add utility to calculate compatible quaternions
authorCampbell Barton <ideasman42@gmail.com>
Tue, 19 Mar 2019 05:50:18 +0000 (16:50 +1100)
committerCampbell Barton <ideasman42@gmail.com>
Tue, 19 Mar 2019 05:54:37 +0000 (16:54 +1100)
source/blender/blenlib/BLI_math_rotation.h
source/blender/blenlib/intern/math_rotation.c

index 5246d7a..60adcf8 100644 (file)
@@ -77,6 +77,8 @@ void add_qt_qtqt(float q[4], const float a[4], const float b[4], const float t);
 void quat_to_mat3(float mat[3][3], const float q[4]);
 void quat_to_mat4(float mat[4][4], const float q[4]);
 
+void quat_to_compatible_quat(float q[4], const float a[4], const float old[4]);
+
 void mat3_normalized_to_quat(float q[4], const float mat[3][3]);
 void mat4_normalized_to_quat(float q[4], const float mat[4][4]);
 void mat3_to_quat(float q[4], const float mat[3][3]);
index a348eda..d52c8f5 100644 (file)
@@ -201,6 +201,23 @@ void pow_qt_fl_normalized(float q[4], const float fac)
        normalize_v3_length(q + 1, si);
 }
 
+/**
+ * Apply the rotation of \a a to \a q keeping the values compatible with \a old.
+ * Avoid axis flipping for animated f-curves for eg.
+ */
+void quat_to_compatible_quat(float q[4], const float a[4], const float old[4])
+{
+       BLI_ASSERT_UNIT_QUAT(a);
+       float delta[4];
+       float old_unit[4];
+       normalize_qt_qt(old_unit, old);
+       rotation_between_quats_to_quat(delta, old_unit, a);
+       mul_qt_qtqt(q, old, delta);
+       if ((q[0] < 0.0f) != (old[0] < 0.0f)) {
+               negate_v4(q);
+       }
+}
+
 /* skip error check, currently only needed by mat3_to_quat_is_ok */
 static void quat_to_mat3_no_error(float m[3][3], const float q[4])
 {